Blue streak on the ground…

It is December, so its cold here in Colorado. One may have enough common sense NOT to ride their motorcycle due to the weather, but today was just too nice (a whole 40…I know!) So me, my buddy Nate (Superhawk 996) and Hover (Yamaha YZF600) go for a ride. I haven’t started my bike in a little over a week so my battery is dead. I throw on a little 1 amp charger, but they don’t have the patients for that. They decide it would be faster just to push start the thing. Perfect, I live on a big hill. So they start pushing me and about 50 feet later I pop the clutch. Nothing. Keep trying, every 50 feet or so and nothing. Before I know it, I’m at the bottom of the hill. Damn. I got ditched so I had to push my bike up myself, no big deal, just a lot of work. I get about have way up and decide to take a break. I put down the kick stand and start breathing in as much air as possible. About a minute goes by and one of the neighbor kids drives up to me. He gives my a weird look like I;m crazy. I fill him in on the details my situation and then he started to laugh, and as he got done I heard Nate start up his bike. Nate comes around a corner and down the hill toward us. As he started to go hard on the throttle, kicking his front end up, his rear tire locks up and his bike come out from under him. The hanus sound the bike made when it first hit the pavement was weird in itself, but as the 400 pound bike came griding to our position ready to hit the neighbors car I couldn’t believe what had happened. Twenty feet up from the bike lay Nate, still and cursing. I pick up his bike thinking the worst has happened to both him and the bike. Nate gets up and heads straight to his bike. Left mirror shattered, fairing cracked, exhaust pipe scraped, shifter broken, rear pegs grinded, blinker gone. Sound like the whole left side is gone huh? Its not bad at all really. Its the fact he laid his bike down going about 20mph and why?! I don’t know, its like I told him after, its better the way he did it then going a lot faster and in traffic. Lesson learned.

Leave a comment